Pancakes

These are the best goddamn airport pancakes
I’ve ever tasted, my fried egg insides
dying the griddled batter yellower,
matching with my sure, why not, orange juice.
There’s a ham steak, too (only $12!),
but my eggs and syrup can do nothing
to alter the color of this pig flesh,
pink and dead, pressed together in one bite.
I always eat that way, a little taste
of each food on every forkful, no
great flavors that don’t taste even better
when eaten together. I’ve got hours
before my flight, time to savor pages
from each of the 15 books I’m reading.

Leave a Reply

