Lifeboat

You are my non-inflatable life vest,
whistle and saltwater-activated
emergency light strapped to my bare chest.
You are my signal flare, my only hope
if I’m ever lost in the blue nowhere.
You are my emergency exit, left
unlocked at all times but never to be
utilized for my daily entrances.
You are my smoke detector, inspected
every few months to make sure you’re not
dead, but left alone for fear of your noise.
You are my spare tire, my AAA card,
my life insurance plan, my second, and
sorry, but I hope I’ll never need you.

Leave a Reply

