Hotel Room

I want to be left alone most the time,
no questions asked, a silent traveller
checking in at the faux marble front desk,
unpacking my mini-toiletries bag,
laying back on the overwhite pillows
and planning god knows what next, whatever
I like, or nothing if it pleases me,
a trip to the lobby bar and a long
evening reading or enjoying the
fancy flat screen in my room equally
appealing. I don’t need the company
of strangers, the kindness of those closest
to me will usually suffice, but
getting to be alone sometimes is nice.

Leave a Reply

