I Carry My Grief In My Armpit

I carry my grief in my armpit
just so I can keep it warm,
and though some times the smell
escapes, at least I’m not alone.

You won’t find me in sleeveless shirts
or shaving off my hair, for
as long as she lives in my lymph
I’d like to keep her there.

One response to “I Carry My Grief In My Armpit

  1. Reblogged this on thom dunn and commented:

    A massage therapist actually said this to my partner, and I just found it to be such a quirky and almost hysterical…ly sad thing, but still such a vivid and strange image that I had to run with it. So it’s not ABOUT her, so much as it’s just about the image.

    I don’t know. It’s been a weird week.

Leave a Reply

