This Is Not Creative Writing

As you may or may not know, today is Patriot’s Day, a holiday that is only celebrated within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, the state that I call home. This holiday, observed on the 3rd Monday in April, commemorates the Battle of Lexington & Concord, the inciting conflict of the American Revolutionary War. In the Boston area, it’s recognized as an official state holiday, closing all businesses (and causing lots of complications on public transportation).

This has less to do with the Battle of Lexington & Concord, however, and more to do with the Boston Marathon, which sees every single citizen of the Greater Boston Area pay tribute to the occasion by intensely daydrinking along the race route.

And so “Marathon Monday,” as we locals so affectionately call it (because of the marathon daydrinking, of course; not because of the race), is one of the most highly anticipated days in the Boston calendar. The city descends into utter chaos as everyone commits themselves body and soul to the celebration of booze and America, and also booze.

And so today, free from the scheduled restrictions of my day job, I planned to accomplish a number of things, including write for this website, rather than my usual Marathon Monday routine of drinking 27 PBRs at various locations along Beacon Street throughout Brookline. Unfortunately, my plans for the afternoon were derailed once I came across the news that two bombs had been set off near the finish line on Boylston Street in the Back Bay, claiming the lives of (at this point) 2 people (including a god damn 8 year child) and injuring more than 50 others.

This all less than 4 miles from the house that I own with my partner.

So, you know, I’m rather flummoxed, to say the least. Bevin and I are safe within our home, but we are both rather freaked out right now, in a way that I have never felt before (certainly there have been greater American tragedies within my lifetime, but none so literally physically close to home).

And so I am submitting this entry because the time it takes for me to type these words offers a very momentary respite from the heartbreaking horror of what has happened here in my home city. The plans I had for today’s post shall hopefully make their way into the world next week, but for now, I hope that you and all of your loved ones are safe and well, and I (ever so agnostic despite my heavily Catholic upbringing) pray for the good fortune of those who have been directly affected by this horrible act.

Leave a Reply

