Other: night

Walking back from that new whiskey place up the street late tonight, everything seemed so quiet.  Even the frayed energy of the sleeping city had shut up, at least for a couple of hours.  The wind didn’t have enough force to push at my ears, but it tickled the fallen leaves enough to make them skitter around the sidewalk. I kept thinking it was the sound of people following me, maybe a gang or a hit squad sneaking into positions around me.  Or someone preparing for a quick-draw duel.  I didn’t have a weapon; I didn’t even have a working phone.  My battery had died while I sat at the bar and flipped through tweets I didn’t care about. So I couldn’t call for help even if I wanted to.

PreviousNext

2 responses to “Other: night

  1. Pingback: Other: Ignore call | five by five hundred

  2. Pingback: Other: Update | five by five hundred

Leave a Reply

