The Call

THREE FRIENDS (”B,” “C,” and “D”) stand in a circle, laughing and drinking and generally enjoying themselves, as friends are wont to do.

“A” stands downstage from the group, talking on a cellphone

A
Uh, yeah no, um…thanks. For calling. Yeah, no,
I know. Yeah. I’ll, um, I’ll talk to you later I guess.

“A” hangs up the phone, rejoins the group.

B
What’s up?

A
Nothing. Kerry, um…. Kerry died.

C
Oh. Oh my God.

B
Wow, um. I’m so sorry. Are you okay?

A
I…Yeah. I guess. Uh… (beat) Yeah.

“A” downs his/her drink.

BLACKOUT

One response to “The Call

  1. Pingback: One Minute Play Festival! | thom dunn

Leave a Reply

