Sarah

Sarah tells me
that she spent Spring Break
in detox, that her
hands are in these casts
from punching the walls
in detox, that they
gave her Vicodin
in detox, for her
blasted knuckles.
What the fuck, right?

She is all ripped tights
knee socks and plaid parka,
cascading hair not quite
covering eyes
huge with
terror.

When I was first
coming to terms
with just what had
me
in
its grim grip
I was this wraith
staring out
with eyes like that,
like being haunted
by my own ghost.

Leave a Reply

