High and Dry

You know why they call it a hot mess?
Because that shit storm is so fucking
sexy.  I get that tingle
just hearing about the OD.  That needle
dives through skin without a ripple,
slow push and quick release.  I’m clean
but seeing that gets me high
every time.  While that pulse slows
in black and blue veins, my bones
turn to Guinness foam, tingling smooth
so damn smooth, it’s hard
not to pour another glass.  Shiver and shake
through the DT’s, my spine will curl
with delight.  Self-hate in bender number
whatever, I think I’m gonna bust.  Find God,
I’ll change the channel.  Call me fucked up,
but it’s safer to live
vicariously.

One response to “High and Dry

Leave a Reply

