Heat and the Inertia of My Body

That was the longest August
relative to my speed and my
approximate location in the
universe, and the first where
I wanted to go back to school.

I was learning how extrasolar
bodies spun around like drunk
metaphors and melted in orbit.
I was also learning that the moon
couldn’t pass as a hydrogen

atom even if it fused with earth.
I embraced change as though
classical forces were acting
upon me or depending on my
energy content for sustenance.

Thus I came to my first law,
motion, and my second law,
conservation, and my third law,
the expenditure of heat.

Leave a Reply

