Two Nights Ago I Dreamt the Sun Was Crashing Into Earth

Expert’s assured me that death would be peaceful.
There was a television broadcast that explained
how everyone would pass
out from the heat and die asleep. We would all
nap sweetly and wake up in heaven among those
our bodies had melted against in the last moments.
I was told to ignore the rising
shoreline and the other gravimetric effects of a

mass that large bearing down upon us. The ocean
turned to lava. It got a bit warm. The sky turned
to glass. It was the reddest
dream I’ve ever had. I was still awake. No one cried.
I was told to ignore the rising
tightness of the weight that had arrived before the light.

Leave a Reply

