I Thought I Reached the Pacific Ocean

Turns out it was a river,

or a bay,

who the fuck knows.

One sad strip of sunset

blinds me to whatever washes onto

 

opposite banks.

I assume that what I

cannot see cannot possibly hurt me.

 

Go West?

Nothing lies beyond the waters

unless we live there.

Go East?

I never

wanted to see Asia anyway.

Let’s

 

fish on our side of the river,

the bay,

keep the mythic other bankers away,

 

cast off my dad’s battles,

get drunk and drown

out the sounds of progress and expansion,

 

invent a caste system,

unvent a bomb,

forget we discovered this place at all.

Leave a Reply

