The Current War

In general, electricity
has never done very much for me.

I need no lights, being diurnal.
The stovetop’s fine for popping kernels.

I own no major appliances,
so don’t understand reliances

on AC, DC, or microchips.
For ages captains would steer their ships

by stars and charts, but no motors ran.
In lieu of tenements I’m a fan

of caves and mountain huts, living small.
Offices should not exist at all.

I’d ban cars, which may sound insurgent,
but why is everything so urgent?

We should shun, too, internet’s appeal
and focus on the corporeal.

If you must use electricity,
I ask you, please, do so privately.

Leave a Reply

