Productivity

9-ish a.m. – I arrive at work
and the first thing I do is check Facebook,
where I’m having a “respectful” argument
about the “Ground Zero Mosque.” On Twitter,
Tila Tequila’s accused an ex-boyfriend
of nearly choking her to death.  Google

News has nothing about it. But Google
Images shows Tequila hard at work
at being naked. And what ex-boyfriend?
Isn’t she gay? Meanwhile, back on Facebook,
I’ve posted a quote from Ebert’s Twitter
page about Mt. Rushmore. My argument

being – just for the sake of argument –
WE defaced the Sioux’s “sacred space.” Google
it if you don’t believe me. My Twitter
following has plunged. I guess I don’t work
as hard to make “friends” as I do on Facebook.
I mean, I’ve even got some ex-boyfriends

on my Friends List, even the ex-boyfriend
who dumped me on my birthday. No argument –
he gave me a card first. It’s okay. Facebook
is one big happy family. But Google
is great for schadenfreude at work.
I wish more people I know had Twitter

pages. Because I have found that Twitter
is just like middle school, where ex-boyfriends
get blocked by ex-girlfriends, and everyone works
really hard to be clever, and some arguments
take up your whole feed. It’s better than Google
if you’re keeping track of who’s dead. Facebook

is good for that, too. Speaking of Facebook,
someone who unfollowed me on Twitter
is still my friend there. Weird. Time to Google
for mean girls from high school and ex-boyfriends.
Are they fat? I make a good argument
for restricting internet at work.

By work’s end, I’m satisfied that at least on Facebook,
I’ve won the argument. I gained two followers on Twitter,
and found one fat ex-boyfriend, with many thanks to Google.

7 responses to “Productivity

  1. My goal is to write a heart-wrenching piece of short fiction that can be tagged “I can’t stop reading stuff about Tila Tequila.” Challenge accepted.

  2. Glad I could be of arguable service in some regard. Godspeed.

  3. Patty DesRochers

    Neat feat — fun, too.

  4. I use FB but… I am a diehard twitter fan.. and of course I work and tweet and work and tweet and… You get the idea. BUT.. anyway.. I’ve no idea where I was going with that. *hugs* though.. Have a great day!

  5. i am uproariously jealous that you are even mentally capable of creating a work/fbook/argument/twitter/exbf/google sestina. we should be best friends, please.

  6. Pingback: (5 x 500) x 500 = (7 x 500) | thom dunn

Leave a Reply

